Bill Horist - Covalent Lodge LP

Bill Horist's newest album 'Covalent Lodge' an intricately orchestrated master album featuring Horist's haunting and deliberate finger pickings along with exquisite musicianship by Grammy recipient Matt Chamberlain on drums, Eyvind Kang (Zorn, Beck, Ribot) on viola, vocalist B.R.A.D. (ASVA,The Accused, MMOB) and jam-packed with other A-list musicians. Most of Horist's solo albums consist of electric prepared guitar work, but Covalent Lodge is notable for it's traditional acoustic qualities captured by engineer and producer Randall Dunn (Sunn o))), Boris, Kinski, Earth) at Aleph Studios. Dunn and Horist are both members of mystical dirge metal super group Master Musicians of Bukakke (Conspiracy Records). Horist's deft fingers pull extended and winding guitar lines through a soundscape populated by strange choral voices, lumbering drums, long tone electronic drones, a harmonically twisting string section, and beckoning horns from outposts in some open wild desert. Performed with stellar musicianship, the songs are precise and calmly accessible. It sounds like the reverberating ghost of some multi-cultural Morricone orchestra, or Jim O'Rourke doing weird world-beat ambient numbers under hypnosis. The ethereal qualities of the songs move with subdued tension. A familiar ghost in a haunted lodge, soothing and unsettling. Covalent Lodge features: Steve Moore, Shahzad Ismaily, Ben Thomas, Christopher DeLaurenti, Climax Golden Twins, Seattle Harmonic Voices, Eric Houghton, Paul Rucker, Jessika Kenney, Dave Carter, Aiko Shimada, Monica Schley, Lori Goldston Since arriving in Seattle in the mid- nineties, Bill Horist has established himself as a highly regarded performer, composer and improviser. Bill currently plays with Master Musicians of Bukkake and Ghidra in addition to numerous other collaborations and solo endeavors. He has appeared on over 50 releases and has performed hundreds of concerts around the world. In addition to his acclaimed solo work, he has collaborated with John Zorn, Secret Chiefs 3, Ruins, Bill Frisell, Six Organs of Admittance, KK Null, Vidushi Sumitra Guha, Makoto Kawabata, Kinski, Kazuhisa Uchihashi, Marron and mem- bers of Pearl Jam, Earth and Boredoms. He has scored music for film, theatre, dance and video games.